RC 2013 WW – Chassis Assembly – Part Two


Project: The Sound of Violence.

Pedals are now fitted, using hardware-store hinges. Unfortunately, there are a couple of adjustments needed: (1) the pedal activation is way too sensitive, when just resting my feet on the pedals, I keep pressing the switches inadvertently and (2) the switches don’t quite fully engage, due to the “other” side of the switch hitting the pedal when popping up (it’s a symmetrical rocker switch button – see this photo).

withpedals2
withpedals3

After rummaging through my boxes of bits, I think I have found the solution to the “can’t rest your feet on the pedals” problem – packing sponge!
sponge

As far as the second issue goes, I guess I will have to carve out a recess in the underside of each pedal to accomodate the “other” end of each rocker switch…

For the next RetroChallenge, remind me to stick to software projects, dammit!

Leave a Reply

